Crock Pot vegan tacos!

It’s Tuesday! Guess what that means?

It’s taco night! Taco Tuesdays, is that a thing? I don’t really know, but I was really craving some tacos today, so that’s what we’re doing.

As you may know, I’ve been trying to eat less meat, so even though I still have animal products during lunch sometimes, I’ve been keeping all my dinners meat-free.

So far, so good! I’ve been making lots of creative vegetarian dishes that don’t let me miss meat at all! I’m actually surprised because just a few weeks ago, I wouldn’t believe you if you told me someday I would enjoy a dinner plate without any beef on it.

But with the right kind of tools (Pinterest) and the right kind of materials (fresh veggies from the farmer’s market) you can make truly amazing vegetarian meals that are full of flavor, texture, and nutrition.

Anyways, back to tacos. How oh how do you make those without meat?

2016_0826_09361200.jpg

Simple! After checking out a few vegan taco recipes on Pinterest, I realized it’s a pretty simple formula of some types of legumes, some quinoa for texture, herbs and spices.

I decided to go with lentils and used red lentils and regular (green?) lentils. I also used some quinoa, homemade taco seasoning, and slow cooked everything for 4 hours.

The best part about these vegan tacos is that you can also slow cook them on ‘low’ for 8 hours, meaning they can cook while you’re at work, and then you’ll come home to ready-to-eat delicious tacos. It’s like magic!

I am definitely doing that next time.

I like to eat my tacos in a soft shell, rolled up like burritos with all my toppings, which usually include cilantro, tomato, greens, taco sauce, and some plain greek yogurt (a little probiotic never hurt anyone). But you can serve this vegan taco filling however you like!

2016_0826_09354200

Ingredients:

1/2 cup red lentils

1/2 cup lentils

1/2 cup quinoa

2.5 cups water

3 cloves of garlic

1 tsp chili powder

1/2 tsp garlic powder

1/2 tsp onion powder

1/4 tsp crushed red pepper flakes

1/2 dried oregano

1/2 tsp paprika

1 tsp cumin

salt & pepper to taste

taco shells (I went with soft)

toppings: I went with spinach, tomato, red onion, plain greek yogurt, taco sauce

Directions:

  1. Throw everything except for taco shells and toppings into the crockpot for 4 hours on high, or 8 hours on low.
  2. That’s it! Enjoy your vegetarian/vegan tacos.

2016_0826_09363100.jpg

 

 

Leave a Reply

