Going Paleo: WEEK 2 Meal Plan

Week 1 Results

My first week of paleo is complete! I didn’t expect to see significant results, but I was pleasantly surprised that even 7 days could make a difference. Although I (stupidly) didn’t weigh myself before starting paleo, I could tell this morning that I appear to be significantly less “plump.” My face went from being round like the moon to being nice and angular, my arms look slimmer, my stomach is flat and light. I wasn’t chubby to begin with, but I definitely looked like I need some toning. After week 1, I would say I look like I’ve toned up quite a bit. I haven’t even started working out (other than light yoga), so I think the improvements is due entirely to paleo. I would say I lost between 2-3 lbs in week 1 (this is just an estimate since I didn’t weigh myself – won’t make that mistake next time!).

Week 1 Challenges

There were tough times, like when I craved sweets and breads and dairy, even though normally I barely have any sugar or milk. Sticking to my paleo meal plan really helped. It’s impossible to slip up when you know what you should be eating, have all the ingredients to make it, and no excuses not to.

Lunch can be hard if you don’t have last night’s leftovers. I assumed that I would find something “paleo” at the cafeteria at work, but that wasn’t always the case. Most of the time, there’s always a salad, but who wants to eat cold, flavorless salad every day for lunch? This week, I will try to plan lunches better.

The foods I missed the most were definitely carbs and starchy sides. I was so used to eating protein and carbs for dinner, that imagining a plate without a pile of pasta or mashed potatoes seemed impossible. Also, eating breakfast without bread. That’s a huge challenge for me. But I learned that there are many substitutes in the paleo world that can easily replace those foods with much healthier ingredients. For example, spaghetti squash and zucchinis are wonderful replacements for pasta. This week, I plan on baking paleo bread, which should help me with those situations when I just don’t know how to approach something without bread.

Eating out was another challenge. My boyfriend (not paleo) wanted some take-out and I spent about 40 minutes looking through the menus on GrubHub, trying to find something that would be acceptable as paleo. I found the only place that had relatively paleo-friendly foods was a Japanese hibachi restaurant. It wasn’t cheap, but it was delicious.

Favorite Meal

My favorite food from week 1 was the Crock Pot Beef Bourguignon – a hearty and delicious, french-y beef stew that happens to be very healthy.

Week 2 Meal Plan:

Saturday

Breakfast: Eggs with bacon and Paleo Bread

Lunch: Cucumber Sliders (cucumber slices with turkey, sliced cherry tomato, onion, and some dijon mustard in between)

Dinner: Man-Pleasing Chicken with Tomato Zucchini Noodles

Sunday

Lunch: Beef, Carrot, Sweet Potato Soup with Paleo Bread

Dinner: Pot Roast with Garlic Thyme Butternut Squash

Monday

Lunch: Leftover Beef, Carrot, Sweet Potato Soup w/ Paleo Bread

Dinner: Coconut Chicken Strips

Tuesday

Lunch: Cucumber Sliders (cucumber slices with turkey, sliced cherry tomato, onion, and some dijon mustard), hard boiled egg.

Dinner: Easy Chicken Spinach

Wednesday

Lunch: Turkey Wraps, Veggies, Hard Boiled Egg, Fruit, Nuts

Dinner: Shrimp Scampi with Zucchini Noodles

Thursday

Lunch: Turkey-Cucumber Roll-Ups

Dinner: Spaghetti Squash Carbonara With Chicken

Friday

Lunch: Leftovers Spaghetti Squash Carbonara With Chicken

Dinner: Kielbasa, Onion, Pepper, Potato Hash (replace potato with sweet potato!)

Leave a Reply

